Interview with Tomas Pettersson (Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio)

Tomas Pettersson, Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio

Rockarolla: Alina Vadean

Rockarolla: First of all I have to admit that Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio grew up year by year. Do you think that people had changed and listen to your music more than they used to listen to?

Tomas Pettersson:Everything is an ever-changing process of evolution. We change our listeners change, the conditions change.

We started almost 20 years ago in a scene primarily established on industrial music for industrial people.

It thereafter evolved into something else, and now it is something it has never been before.

The music we make appeals to a diversity of listeners, not only one scene. Not because the music itself is broad, but because the aesthetic concept is extensive and has many variations. There is something inside which appeals to many.

Rockarolla: Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio music seems to be that kind of music which is very difficult to be described. Actually ORE is more than music. It is a pleading for values covered with music. Which one from these 2: Lyrics or Music (Instrumentation) do you think is more important?

Tomas Pettersson:I write lyrics that need to function individually without music, that has always been my ambition from day one, but that was not the situation with the music up until CCCP.

Nowadays however, I maintain the same distinction with both lyrics AND music; they need to function individually without the involvement and amplification of the other.

So I think your description of ”values covered with music” is quite accurate in terms of what I aspire to accomplish.

Rockarolla: Do you think that ORE would survive without lyrics?

Tomas Pettersson: At an early stage I asked myself the same question, and reached the conclusion that I would not, but today I believe we would.

The lyrics however, still play a very important role as part of the context. Without them I would not be able to clarify my symbolism, my yearnings, my ambitions, the aesthetic plot; and everything that is ORE would become much less interesting.

Rockarolla: I find your music full of subliminal messages. The real meaning of your songs is somewhere behind the words. Is there any strategic game when you write the lyrics or it is more spontaneous than we think?

Tomas Pettersson: I think art should be more than what catches the observer at first impact.

O.R.E is a selfish outlet, a process that never ends, it serves the sole purpose of satisfying myself, my dreams and desires, my thoughts and the questions I have.

What I portray is a reflection of me, lyrically as well as musically, musically as well as graphically. And if this canalization of selfishness through text, music and images is able to inspire one single person to seize his or her life, realize their dreams, and LIVE life to its fullest potential, then my quest is done and it was all worth it.

That is the primary ambition, meaning and message.

Rockarolla: Many people imagined your live shows as pure lechery. I’ve discovered an ORE very decent and mature on the stage. Did you change your live performance in the last years? Is ORE the same extrovert band that it used to be?

Tomas Pettersson: We have changed along with growing older and wiser (or maybe just older) and I am not sure in which sense you suggest that we have been extrovert, but I am willing to say that we are more extrovert today than ever.

Rockarolla: CCCP was one of the best album I’ve ever heard. It is full of contradictory emotions, events. Is it a conceptual album? It looks like a circular story with no end. Is it a metaphor of your lifes?

Tomas Pettersson: Thank you.

It is quite funny what you say about CCCP, and also what you say about Apocalips in the next question.

At the time when CCCP was released, nobody paid much attention; nobody cared less. It was just an album which came and went, and we didn’t really accomplish any greater success with it at the time.

But then, AFTER the release of Apocalips, CCCP was elevated, exalted and applauded. It was a magnificent album and what if ONLY Apocalips could have been more like it.

But fact remains, Apocalips IS our most successful album up until now, and no previous album has accumulated so much success for us as Apocalips has done over the two and a half years it has been out; coincidently generating more interest and sales to CCCP as well as Satyriasis.

Rockarolla: Altogether, Apocalips came like the silence after the war. How did the people receive it?

Tomas Pettersson: I have come to learn over the years that there are quite obvious regional differences. Some records are quite successful I some regions while other records are not, and the other way around. In the US for example, every second cd we release get great feedback, while the rest remains entirely unnoticed. And I think this might be the reason why you say that Apocalips arrived like the silence after the war.

In other parts of Europe it was generously received; Germany, France, Italy and Portugal for example. It was received as record of the month in the German gothic magazine Orkus, and got great feedback from France, was in some sort of dj circulation in Portugal, and on and on and on. So I think that some records just don’t make it everywhere. So it has always been for us.

Rockarolla: CCCP is more about emotions in their pure status; Apocalips seems to be more about social events, political ideas and their impact on people. What can you tell to us about ONANI? Which will be the central theme of the album?

Tomas Pettersson: I think it is useless for me to ponder with regard to the thematic essence of my own accomplishments; it is far too subjective to be taken seriously.

O N A N I is a big step forward for ORE.

It is different in comparison to all that we have done in the past, but still a resurrection of the old making it new and perfected.

The emotional status is more introvert than both CCCP and Apocalips.

The context is O N A N I, but one essence is musical, another graphical and the third lyrical, and I think these three components converge naturally, and conceive a very intimate and emotional context.

But I let you and others be the judges of that yourselves.

Rockarolla:I know only two songs from ONANI and these two sound like a “coming back to the dark side”, to the times before CCCP. Is it that true?

Tomas Pettersson: It is possible, but not very likely that I would take a step backward.

Rockarolla: Talking about “coming back”, which industrial, neo/apocalyptic-folk, post-rock (or what else) bands do you listen to?

Tomas Pettersson: What music do I normally listen to? At home, and on my way to work, I normally listen to Combichrist, Kent, Leonard Cohen, Klangstabil, Panzer AG, Lustmord or Christian Death just to mention but a few.

Rockarolla: I’ve seen a lot of metalheads enjoying your music. Is there any special connection between metal and ORE’s music? Are they your no.1 fans?

Tomas Pettersson: Metal people might be over-represented in Romania and other parts of the East; but not really in Europe in general.

I have lately started to notice that we appeal to many girls, so maybe that’s what we have become, a “boy-band”? But in Germany, Holland, Italy and Spain for example, we primarily seem to attract a Gothic / Industrial oriented audience, but nothing is ever exclusive, there is always a variety in the crowd.

Rockarolla: How do you keep in touch with your fans? Your website has no forum or any guestbook. Is that your wish?

Tomas Pettersson: We primarily keep contact with our fans and listeners via the Myspace community, but also via mail – contact@ordo-rosarius-equilibrio.net

We used to maintain a guestbook as part of the website, but as it started to get spammed I decided to close it.

There also the ambition to reopen the army of roses and equilibrium as the community as it was supposed to be, but this is a matter of time, and right now I don’t have any.

Rockarolla: Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio performed in Brasov, Romania on 15th of November.  The audience seemed very satisfied and the reviews of the show were very positive, in general. How did you find the show?

Tomas Pettersson: I think the performance in Brasov Romania was a good concert, I am pleased with everything related to the concert and our visit, but because everyone was sitting down and it was virtually impossible to create a “normal” intimate relation with the participating audience, it tends to reduce my overall impression and leaves me with a somewhat bitter taste in the mouth.

But I am happy, very happy about Romania and having played there, and all that came with it.

Rockarolla: Do you want to say something to your Romanian fans? I think they are already waiting to see you (and Rose-Marie) live again as soon as possible.

Tomas Pettersson: We will be back, but in the meantime;

It is better to regret the things you do; than the things you never did.

Rockarolla: Thank you very much!

http://www.rockarolla.xtremeweb.ro/interviuri.php?stare=2&ID=21&interviuri=1

~ by arianrod on November 26, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
